Experienced Attorney Representation For Repeat DWI Charges

The penalties for a first-time DWI in Missouri can be severe. However, repeat offenders could potentially face much more significant punishments. Large fines, license suspensions and jail time are all a possibility if you have already been convicted of driving while intoxicated in the past.

At Whiteaker & Wilson, PC d/b/a Law Office of Stuart P. Huffman, we understand the impact that DWI charges can have. We also realize that law enforcement does not always get it right. Our lawyers have successfully represented clients here in Springfield and surrounding areas of Missouri for decades.

What Are The Penalties For Repeat DWI Convictions?

A first-time DWI conviction may result in a fine of up to $500. While jail time is a possibility, first-time offenders can often avoid it through alternative sentencing agreements and other measures. With a second DWI conviction in Missouri, however, there is a mandatory jail sentence of 48 hours. The maximum jail sentence can be up to one year. The fine also doubles to a maximum of $1,000.

For those convicted of a third, fourth or fifth DWI offense, the charges may be increased to felonies. This means higher fines and longer jail sentences. The severity of the sentence will depend on the number of prior convictions and other aggravating factors, such as whether there was a child in the vehicle. However, a felony DWI conviction can result in a fine of up to $5,000 and a potential jail sentence of up to five years.

Call Today For A Personalized Approach To Your Case

Whether you are facing a second, third or even fourth DWI, you do have options. At Whiteaker & Wilson, PC d/b/a Law Office of Stuart P. Huffman, our attorneys will make certain that you fully understand them so that you can make the most informed decisions possible. We will also aggressively pursue a positive resolution for your case, whatever that may be. Call 417-413-5858 or use our online form to contact us and schedule a consultation today.