Drunk Driving Frequently Asked Questions In Missouri

Last updated on June 12, 2024

Our clients have a lot of questions. Here are the ones our attorneys hear most often:

What is the legal limit for drunk driving in Missouri?

It depends. For most drivers, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) in Missouri is .08%. That’s automatic, or “per se,” drunkenness, even if a driver does not seem impaired. For drivers under 21 years of age, Missouri has a “zero tolerance” policy, so the legal BAC limit is .02%. For someone with a commercial driver’s license (CDL), the legal limit is .04%, even if they are in their own car.

What are the potential penalties for a DWI?

For a first offense, drivers convicted of DWI in Missouri face up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. They will lose their license for 30 days and have a restricted license for 60 days. They may also be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).

Can I refuse to take a breathalyzer test?

“Implied consent” laws in Missouri require all motorists to submit to chemical testing on their blood, breath, urine or saliva if they are arrested for driving while intoxicated. If you refuse, you will generally have your license revoked for one year, followed by an Ignition Interlock Device requirement for another six months.

Do I need a lawyer to handle a DWI?

If you want to avoid a DWI conviction or mitigate the consequences of a conviction, the smartest thing you can do is to get an experienced attorney. They will protect your rights and help you navigate the criminal defense process, explore your options and make informed decisions.

Will I lose my driver’s license?

If your BAC is above the legal limit, the officer will take your license and give you notice that your license will be automatically suspended after 15 days. The notice gives you a 15-day driving permit, during which time you can request a hearing to contest the suspension or request a hardship license so that you can still drive for school, work or medical needs.

Call Today

If you have been charged with a DWI, call Whiteaker & Wilson, PC d/b/a Law Office of Stuart P. Huffman, at 417-413-5858 today or contact us online.